Home > Real Grade 1/144, WIP > RG Zaku II – WIP I

RG Zaku II – WIP I

Started work on the Zaku II and more or less completed the legs, for now I’m leaving out the tubing for later. It appears the frame the Zaku uses is pretty much the same as the one used in the RX-78-2, in fact the leg frame is identical meaning that it will share the same cool features and pesky problems.

Like the previous RG model kit the legs can bend back quite a way. The front part of the thigh also slides back and forth as the leg bends.

Unfortunately it also has the same structural weakness, notice the white stress mark? Annoyingly enough like the RX-78-2  it’s the right leg which appears to have the problem. Seeing as this problem has affected many RX-78-2 kits including my own and that the Zaku uses the same frame for the legs this can not possibly be a coincidence. At least I was prepared for this and prevented the frame from breaking completely, but that stress mark worries me.

Hopefully I should be finished with the snap-fitting by the end of the week so stay tuned.

Categories: Real Grade 1/144, WIP Tags: ,
  1. 08/06/2011 at 2:11 AM

    all RG shares the same mechanical frame, like it or not…

    but I like it much

    • 08/06/2011 at 11:48 AM

      Oh I like it too, it’s pretty incredible for a 1/144 scale kit. I just hope the problem doesn’t plague my future RG purchases.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

