Home > Master Grade 1/100 > MG 1/100 – Gundam Astray Red Frame Kai

MG 1/100 – Gundam Astray Red Frame Kai

Well here is the project I’ve been working on for the past week. After seeing Z’s Red Frame which he completed not too long ago I convinced myself to nab one for myself and have an attempt at it. While the final outcome may seem alright , this project was ultimately a disaster. For this kit I tried to use some primer and paints from a brand I don’t normally use, which pretty much sabotaged the poor model. Lesson learnt: Never ever use Plasti-Kote products on gunpla, Tamiya will always be your friend even if it’s double the price. Now I’m not saying that Plasti-Kote products are bad, but it applies on surfaces so thickly articulated joints become so stiff parts break (already broken the knee joint). So basically it’s not suitable on gunpla and other model kits that have articulated joints.

Anyway I had to painstakingly dissassemble and remove the paint and primer to be redone with Tamiya primer and Humbrol enamels. Well now thats over and done with I need to give my mind and hands a rest before moving onto another project.

  1. 16/09/2010 at 1:10 AM

    nice. how much did it cost, the model alone, and how much was all the paint and equipment?

    • 16/09/2010 at 11:59 AM

      Well then, I got the model off AmiAmi for ¥3,650 which I reckon is a pretty sweet deal. Paints and primer costed me almost £25 in total, about £10 of that was wasted on Plasti-Kote.

  2. 05/12/2010 at 9:11 AM

    nice new mode you’ve got there =D i suggest you hold the archer mode higher will make it look really much better check out mine =D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

